Overwatch 2 NSE Winter


Week 1-3 Qualification

Week 4-7 Playoffs and Swiss

Week 8 Finals


Online via the NSE Discord


Sign-ups are now closed, to check in and view fixtures please visit


Overwatch 2 NSE Winter is split into 2 main stages: Stage 1 Qualification (Weeks 1-3) and Stage 2 Swiss/Playoffs (Weeks 4-7)


Stage 1

In Stage 1 teams will initially be seeded into 3 skill groups. In the first round teams will play another team in the same skill group and in the following rounds be matched versus teams with a similar record in the tournament.


Stage 2

In Stage 2 the top 16 teams will start in the Division 1 bracket (a double elimination bracket) and everyone else will continue playing in a Swiss tournament, starting with points based on finish in Stage 1. Teams who do well in the Swiss can qualify for the Division 2 or Division 3.


1st - £500

2nd - £300

3rd - £200

Top 8 - BUEC Championship Pins

In addition to other prizes this tournament awards British University Esports Championship Points.


  • All players must be current students from the same university. 
  • All games are on the European region.
  • Teams must have at least 5 players. Teams may add/remove players from team between weeks.
  • If teams are more than 20 minutes late they will forfeit a match.
  • Check in deadline is 6:30pm. Teams who don't check in will not get games for that evening.
  • Lobby settings
    • Competitive rules on
    • Kill cam disabled
    • Skins disabled
  • Offensive player and team names are not allowed.
  • Verbal abuse is not allowed. In particular any use of racist, sexist, homophobic or any other discriminatory language will be suspended for the remainder of the season (minimum of 3 weeks, carried over to the following season).

Players are expected to uphold the NSE Code of Conduct whilst competing in this tournament

In addition to NSE rules all players must comply with Overwatch 2 terms of service at all times including, but not limited to, any account sharing policies.

Click here to download full rule book

Map Veto

All maps picked must be picked from Following Map pool. 

Control: Antarctic Peninsula, Busan, Ilios, Lijiang Tower
Hybrid: Blizzard World, Eichenwalde, ​King's Row, Midtown
Flashpoint: New Junk City, Suravasa
Escort: Circuit Royal, Dorado, Shambali Monastery, Route 66
Push: Colosseo, Esperança, New Queen Street​

Best of Five

For best of 5 maps game modes will be played in the following order with the higher seed choosing map in the first game and lower seed choosing starting side. In subsequent games the loser of the previous map chooses the next map and the winning team chooses side. 

  • Control 
  • Hybrid 
  • Flashpoint 
  • Push 
  • Escort 

Best of Three

Best of 3s will work in the same way except only three game modes will be played. The three games modes will rotate each week.

  • Week 1
    • Escort
  • Week 2
    • Control
  • Week 3
    • Hybrid
  • Week 4
    • Flashpoint
    • Push
    • Hybrid
  • Week 5
    • Push
    • Escort
    • Flashpoint
  • Week 6
    • Escort
    • Control
    • Hybrid
  • Week 7
    • Push
    • Flashpoint
    • Control

All decisions regarding the interpretation and enforcement of these rules is at the sole discretion of the NSE Admin Team, whose decisions are final.
These rules may be amended, changed or supplemented when required by the NSE Admin Team to ensure fair play and competitive integrity.

Dates Tournament Stage
Tuesday 17th Oct Sign-Ups Close
Thursday 19th Oct Qualification
Thursday 26th Oct Qualification
Thursday 2nd Nov Qualification
Thursday 9th Nov

Week 1 Playoff Brackets
Week 1 Swiss

Thursday 16th Nov

Week 2 Playoff Brackets
Week 2 Swiss

Thursday 23th Nov

Week 3 Playoff Brackets
Week 3 Swiss

Thursday 30th Nov

Week 4 Playoff Brackets
Week 4 Swiss

9th/10th Dec (Provisional) Grand Finals

All games with the exception of the Grand Finals will be played on Thursday evening and cannot be rearranged. Games will have a normal start time of 7.15pm.